Your insurance plan

Insurance for international students in Canada

As a member of the Africans' League of Canada, you can profit from the benefits of the International student insurance of Allianz Global Assistance (hereinafter referred to as "AGA") through Major Plan that will cover you during your stay in Canada. It acts as a health insurance policy in the same way as the insurance offered by Desjardins at the cheapest price on the market. 

You will need to register for the insurance by sending us an Application for Insurance Registration prior to your arrival in Canada. It is important that you ensure beforehand that you are admissible. This plan allows you to benefit from the complete insurance coverage including the dental, health, vision, travel and accident insurance. Your plan also offers additional benefits through the Major Plan Rebate Network

Your insurance coverage will start on the later of the date indicated as the effective date on your confirmation of coverage, which should correspond to the date of your arrival in Canada. The coverage period ends at the earliest of : 

  • the due date shown on your confirmation of coverage corresponding to your date of departure from Canada and your return to your country of origin;
  • The date you become insured under a canadian public health insurance plan. 

Premiums

The enrolment cost for the plan is invoiced according to the study period of your stay in Canada. This cost is determined either by an annual rate or by a daily rate. The period of coverage may not exceed 365 days. The payment of the premium must be made in a single payment and must be made to the Major Plan. 

You can also change some of your elements of your coverage by adding your spouse or children for an additional premium. This change can be done before your departure or during your stay in Canada. For additional information regarding the terms and conditions, please refer to the Amendment coverage. 

 Options ALC.PNG

Those informations are provided for indication purposes only. At all times, the contract terms shall prevail. 

*The spouse and each dependent must be insured under the same plan option and on the same policy as the admissible student and must live under the same roof as the admissible student. 

** The minimum premium must be $ 30 per entry.

Educational support service

The international student insurance also protects your academic progress if, as a result of illness or injury and your doctor anticipates that you will be hospitalized for more than 30 days. You can therefore benefit from a pedagogical assistance service offered by a qualified tutor and organized by your school. 

Tutorial ALC.PNGThose informations are provided for indication purposes only. At all times, the contract terms shall prevail. 

* Please note that the information on our website is for indication purposes only and is intended to provide you with an overview of the benefits of insurance. It is strongly recommended that you refer to your insurance policy for more information. At any time, the contract terms shall prevail.

Mon régime

Assurance pour étudiants internationaux au Canada

En étant membre de la Ligue des Africains du Canada, vous pouvez bénéficier des avantages de l'assurance pour étudiants internationaux d'Allianz Global Assistance (ci-après nommé «AGA») par le biais du Plan Major, qui va vous couvrir au cours de votre séjour au Canada. Elle fait office d'assurance santé au même titre que l'assurance offerte par Desjardins et ce, au prix le moins cher sur le marché.

Vous devrez procéder à l'inscription à l'assurance en nous acheminant une Demande d'inscription à l'assurance avant votre arrivée au Canada. Il est essentiel de vous assurer, préalablement à votre arrivée au Canada, afin que vous soyez admissible. Ce régime vous permet de bénéficier d'une couverture d'assurance comprenant les volets dentaire, santé, oculaire, voyage et accident. Votre régime offre également des avantages supplémentaires par l'entremise du Rabais-Réseau du Plan Major. 

Votre couverture d'assurance sera effective à la date d'entrée en vigueur de votre régime qui se trouve sur votre confirmation de couverture, soit la date correspondant à votre arrivée au Canada. La période de couverture prend fin à la première éventualité suivante, soit:

  • à la date d'échéance figurant sur votre confirmation de couverture correspondant à votre date de départ du Canada et votre retour dans votre pays d'origine; 
  • à la date à laquelle vous devenez assuré en vertu d'un régime public canadien d'assurance maladie. 

Cotisation

Le coût d'adhésion au régime est facturé selon la période d'études prévue lors de votre séjour au Canada. Ce coût est déterminé soit au moyen d'un tarif annuel ou bien d'un tarif journalier. La période de couverture ne peut être de plus de 365 jours. Le paiement de la cotisation doit se faire en un seul versement et doit se faire auprès du Plan Major. 

Il vous est également possible de modifier certains éléments de votre couverture en y ajoutant votre conjoint(e) ou vos enfants, moyennant une cotisation supplémentaire. Pour avoir de l'information supplémentaire sur les modalités, veuillez consulter l'onglet Modification de couverture.

LAC1.PNG
Les renseignements sont fournis à titre indicatif. En tout temps, les clauses du contrat de couverture prévalent. 

*Le conjoint et chaque enfant à charge doivent être assurés en vertu de la même option de régime et sur la même police que l'étudiant admissible et doivent habiter sous le même toit que celui-ci. 

** La cotisation minimum doit être de 30 $ par inscription. 


Services d'aide pédagogique

L'assurance pour étudiants internationaux voit également à protéger votre cheminement académique si, suite à une maladie ou une blessure, le médecin prévoit que vous serez hospitalisé pour plus de 30 jours. Vous pouvez, de ce fait, bénéficier d'un service d'aide pédagogique offert par un tuteur qualifié et organisé par votre école.

LAC4.PNG
Les renseignements sont fournis à titre indicatif. En tout temps, les clauses du contrat de couverture prévalent. 

* Veuillez noter que les informations figurant sur notre site internet n'y sont qu'à titre indicatif et dans le but de vous offrir un aperçu des bénéfices de l'assurance. Il est fortement recommandé de vous référer à votre police d'assurance pour de plus amples renseignements. En tout temps, les clauses du contrat de couverture prévalent.